Board of Directors & Staff

Board of Directors

Harvey County United Way is an independent, local non-profit organization governed by a board of directors.

All board members live and/or work in the community. They are intentionally chosen to represent various sectors, interests and employers in the community.

The Board Executive Committee is comprised of the Chair, 1st Vice-Chair, 2nd Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past President and Chairs of any standing committees.

At this time, there are three standing committees: Campaign, Community Investment and Community Impact.

2017 Board of Directors:

  • Merresa Akers - Secretary - Midland National Bank
  • David Anderson - Treasurer - Midland National Bank
  • Denise Duerksen - City of Newton
  • Matt Flaming - Mid America Youth Basketball
  • Nina Carr - Central National Bank
  • Kim Fiessinger - USD 373
  • Chad Frey - Immediate Past Chair - Newton Kansan
  • Rick Golubski - Allen Gibbs & Houlik
  • Myrla Haury - Halstead
  • Loni Jensen - 1st Vice Chair and Chair, Campaign Committee - Hutchinson Community College
  • Samantha Lawrence - Immediate Past Chair and Chair, Community Investment Committee - Bank of the West
  • Sherri RawlinsChair, Community Impact Committee - Associated Colleges of Central Kansas
  • Kati Sartain - AutoCraft Collision Repair
  • Christie Spillane - Wee B Tots licensed day care
  • David Stucky - Chair - Adrian & Pankratz
  • Rick Toews - First Bank


To keep overhead low, Harvey County United Way’s daily operations are handled by a small but knowledgeable professional staff which works closely with volunteers at all levels. The organization has one full-time employee, and one part-time assistant during campaign time.

  • Tina Payne, Executive Director
  • Veri Stroud, Campaign Assistant


2015 - 990 Form